Getting Ready for the Mother of All Writing Marathons

Standard

Since Sunday, I’ve been doing preliminary work on the novel I plan to start and possibly finish during NaNoWriMo. I’ve got a working plot synopsis and I’m starting on narrowing down my cast of characters. I knew I couldn’t just jump into this thing on November 1st without some background work.

I’m also going to start listing my scenes, starting with the pivotal ones. I read in James V. Smith Jr.’s Fiction Writer’s Brainstormer (which deal-finder hubby found and a recent trip to B&N for $5.98) that nailing down the major plot of the story to ten scenes or less is key to avoiding several mistakes, such as overwriting, wandering or too much complexity.

So I plan on figuring out what those scenes will be. I know it sounds like I’ve got it all together right now, and I sound like I’ve got a good start going. But it’ll probably all explode on November 1st, and I’ll end up wondering where I’m going and why I’m in a handbasket.

5 thoughts on “Getting Ready for the Mother of All Writing Marathons

  1. You are so far ahead of me ! 🙂 I have figured out what I want to write–loosley anyway–But I have not sat down to plot it out yet. I have multi-colored index cards at the ready and my favorite pens to do the sketchy stuff and, well, that’s it. Thank goodness there are six more days…….

    Like

  2. I just love it that you two seem to comment together! 😀

    Shelly — As I said before, all bets are off as of 11/1! We’ll see how that planning pays off!

    Melly — I’m hoping as I get scenes figured out, that will help me continue if I get stuck on one. Best of luck to you too!

    Like

  3. Checking out that NaNo thing, not sure what it is but it sounds positive if it helps one get over stumbling blocks.

    I wonder if the same 10 scene idea works for screenplays, too… especially when you get stuck in the middle of your story, looking at your characters and saying repeatedly ‘what the hell do they do next?’

    I’ve been in that holding pattern for so long I’m embarassed. :/

    Like

  4. Well, the book does say that the same philosophy works for novels, plays and films. I’d say go for it. If you find the book on a clearance rack somewhere like I did, check it out. For $6, it was definitely worth the money! 🙂

    Like

Thoughts, anyone? Anyone? Bueller?

