Things That Make You Go Awww…

I’ve noted before how seeing calendars of assisted living communities sometimes makes me dread growing older. But today, I saw a newsletter that just melted my heart. A couple celebrated their 78th wedding anniversary by renewing their vows at this particular community. When the couple first married in 1926 (:!:), they eloped, so the bride never had a wedding gown or veil. This time, however, the community staff made sure she had both for the ceremony.

One other humorous point: When the pastor, asked the groom if he took this woman as his wife, he said yes, but not loud enough for her. So she nudged him and said, “Answer louder!”

But the pictures they sent are so sweet. If I knew I wouldn’t be invading someone’s privacy, I’d post them here for you, but I’d probably lose my job over it. So you’ll just have to take my word for it!

4 thoughts on “Things That Make You Go Awww…

Add yours

  1. That’s a great story! I wish I saw that sort of thing with my clients. 95% of everyone I work with is divorced/widowed and some of them are pretty sour over it.

    Like

  2. Absolutely! It sounds like they are in relatively good health, they still enjoy being married AND they remember who the other one is, what’s not great about that? I shared this with my co-workers and they thought it was touching too.

    Like

  3. Yeah, the wife was in a wheelchair, but other than that, I think they were in pretty good health. The article also said that if they make it two more years, they’ll tie the couple in the Guiness Book of World Records.

    Of course, I hope that doesn’t jinx them! 😕

    Like

Thoughts, anyone? Anyone? Bueller?

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

