Some Observations… the Anniversary Edition

Standard

Today is mine and hubby’s wedding anniversary. At this time six years ago, the wedding rings had been found, we’d both made it to the chapel, the ceremony went beautifully, and we were pronounced man and wife… sucker. Hee hee.

So today, I give you five observations about our marriage:

  1. He HATES all the Christmas hullabaloo. It’s not that he doesn’t believe in the holiday; he just things the commercialization goes too far. When I want to buy lights for outside, he moans and groans. He’s not one for driving around and looking at Christmas lights, which is, of course, one of my favorite things to do during the holidays.
  2. When we actually find an album that we both like, the song I like the most is always the song he likes the least and vice versa.
  3. I love taking different routes to the places we frequent. He finds it unnecessary and frustrating.
  4. My favorite Christmas song is “Have Yourself a Merry Little Christmas.” He likes to sing “It’s beginning to look a lot like syphilis” to the tune of “It’s Beginning to Look a Lot Like Christmas.” He’d rather be dipped in a vat of hydrochloric acid than listen to Christmas music.
  5. Despite these and all our other differences, he can still call me from the doctor’s office — when they’ve had to draw blood and he’s almost passed out because of his incredible dread of needles — to say that he just wanted to hear my voice, and my heart will melt and my eyes will tear up.

Happy anniversary, Hubby, and please don’t kill me for telling the last incident. 😉

9 thoughts on “Some Observations… the Anniversary Edition

  1. …and despite the fact you’ve now told nearly everyone in the world what a limp-wristed needle sissy i am i still love you too.

    by the way, i’m not the sucker…you are soooooo the sucker.

    sucker.

    Like

  2. Thanks Identity, 😀

    Jenny – Nope, WE’RE totally the suckers with Domino. Last night as we watched a movie, Hubby and I sat beside each other, and then here comes Domino, up in our laps. She laid there almost the whole time. What a sweetie.

    Like

  3. Congrats, Carla!

    1. I love looking at lights.

    2. We already like the same music. :mrgreen:

    3. Different routes makes it less routine!

    4. I make lists of my favorite Holiday and Christmas songs.

    5. I love needles!

    No wonder we’re such perfect virtual friends! 😉

    Like

  4. One… two… three… awww! Always a delight to hear a sweet wedding / anniverary story. My parents just celebrated their 50th last Thanksgiving. May you join them in 44 years! 😀

    Like

  5. David – Well, I don’t really know about loving needles, but I do love the holidays. We just had our big Christmas party Saturday night and had lots of friends over. I honestly don’t know if we could have fit another person in the living room/kitchen/dining room of our house! But that made it all that much more fun.

    Hubby just goes along with it though. He likes to see me happy. 😀

    meryl – yeah, I got in my sappy quota yesterday. Go take your insulin now! 😉

    Like

  6. everything runs smoother when the mrs. is happy…my grandfather always says “when you play house sometimes you have to eat mudpies”…and that is your southern expression for the day.

    i was always partial to “if you’re gonna be a turd why don’t you go lie in the yard” myself.

    there’s a time and place for either i suppose.

    Like

Thoughts, anyone? Anyone? Bueller?

