You Might Regret Reading This

The definition of REGRET from Dictionary.com:

  1. To feel sorry, disappointed, or distressed about.
  2. To remember with a feeling of loss or sorrow; mourn.

Synonyms: regret, sorrow, grief, anguish, woe, heartache, heartbreak
These nouns denote mental distress. Regret has the broadest range, from mere disappointment to a painful sense of dissatisfaction or self-reproach, as over something lost or done

This is just something that’s been mulling over in my mind over the past couple of days. Perhaps it’s from the story I was working on.I love the sentence in the “Synonyms” section about regret having the broadest range.

Some people say that we should live without regret, and to a point I suppose that’s true. I mean, to mourn something done wrong so much that you’re reliving the past is simply unnecessary and unhealthy. Especially the small stuff. You can’t go days wishing you’d had the spaghetti instead of the lasagne for lunch last week.

However, I think that to live completely free of regret is to admit that no mistakes have been made. So what do we learn from? What’s a situation when it’s reasonable to regret what happened? And when do we shake it off and say “Enough!” and move on?

I don’t have the answers here. I’m just throwing it out there. Feel free to add your two cents.

4 thoughts on “You Might Regret Reading This

Add yours

  1. I completely agree with you. I think regrets help shape us into better people. If there’s nothing you view as a mistake or regret, then how can you alter what happenes the next time a similar situation presents itself? I think regret is a necessary emotion for all of us.

    Like

  2. I agree with Shelly. As humans we have feelings and emotions for a reason. Either to learn from our past mistakes or to reflect and enjoy good memories of good times. I’m sure there’s many more examples, but I feel living without regret is a good goal – but that it’s impossible to reach.

    In other words, if you can work hard to live w/o regret, that is a good thing to try for. Try making good decisions, etc. so that you don’t regret them.

    But, to actually have a goal of never being regretful about anything is empty.

    Like

Thoughts, anyone? Anyone? Bueller?

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

