Sheryl Crow Sang It Best

“A change would do you good.”

And that’s what I’ve been thinking about — change. The SC Board of Education has a program that allows adults who have college degrees in critical needs subjects to teach in those areas or in a critical need district and earn their teacher certification. It’s a three-year program. I have the application sitting right here beside me as I write this.

When I was in college, I started out as an English secondary ed major, but then I saw that I would be taking only three lit classes (in addition to the three required for general liberal arts purposes). I felt a little short-changed, so I changed my official major to English/Writing Emphasis. I wanted to study more literature and do more writing. Yes, I’m a freak, and when I got into some of that literature there were some moments of “What the hell was I thinking?” But as a whole, I enjoyed that experience. Hey, I graduated with a 3.89 GPA! I definitely kept my nose in some books!

Then when I went to grad school, I was a straight M.A. in English, but then I started thinking about the teaching thing again, realizing that I’ve had a lot of lit courses now, so perhaps the time was right. I was weighing the option of the MAT program when the depression started settling in and simply existing became more of an issue than getting a degree.

I thought about going back not long after Hubby and I were married, but I felt the money just wasn’t there — even though now there’s even less of it than there was then! 😯 So that brings me to now, where it has come up once again.

Am I crazy for considering this at 33 years old (34 in two months)? There’s training and three graduate courses to take and money for all of it, and before I send in the application I gotta get a replacement Social Security card because our beloved Domino tore mine up in a misbehavior fit a few years ago (crazy story, not the time for it now).

And it does all come at a time when I’m miserable at my current job, so there’s a lot of questioning as to whether I’m really doing this for the right reasons. I don’t want to end up some bitter teacher who continues to make her students’ lives miserable because she feels like she can’t do anything else.

But these thoughts have come up before — three other times. Perhaps someone is trying to tell me something… or perhaps I’m finally listening to myself.

6 thoughts on “Sheryl Crow Sang It Best

Add yours

  1. Go for it! You’re never to old to do new things.

    And if you’re that unhappy at the current job, maybe this is the way the thing you’ve been (unknowingly) waiting for to change all that around!

    Like

  2. I don’t think you’re too old at all! I don’t know where you are, but here in the UK you can get a ‘golden hello’ and paid post-graduate teacher certificate training, as 2ndary teachers are in short supply. Even if you’re American! So perhaps worth taking a year out to Europe??

    Like

  3. It’s not that I think I’m too old. Perhaps that it feels as if I’m starting over, and that’s a little daunting too. Exciting, but daunting. It’s been more than ten years since I’ve been in any sort of learning setting, so that’s a little scary too. Exciting but scary. 🙂

    J’s Girlfriend: Here in South Carolina (USA), I can get certified through the program I talked about above. Teachers are in short supply around here too. Although, Europe is tempting! 😉

    Like

  4. As my house mate would say ‘You’re never too young to learn!’

    Sure it’s not as easy as when you’re in your teens, but it is impotant to keep doing so…

    Like

  5. I’ve thought about teaching too. I don’t think a whole new career is a bad thing at any age — especially if you are unhappy aboutyour current job. Our generation is going to have to work for a lot of years before retirement, so you might as well make it something that you enjoy! Good luck if that’s what you decide to do!

    Like

Thoughts, anyone? Anyone? Bueller?

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

