The Power of Blogging

When I started blogging a year ago, I never thought I would get this swept up in it. I never thought I'd meet the wonderful people I've met. I never thought I would read a post and weep, but I have tonight.

I have been reading Poetic Acceptance for almost six months now. Erin Monahan is the author, and she is an exceptional poet with natural talent. Today, her four-month-old son died after trying for six weeks to recover from open heart surgery.

What brings even more tears is that Nova, born Donovan, is the second of her children to die because of a birth defect that required this surgery. I'm not going into the specifics. I encourage you to visit her site and read her story.

I have checked her blog almost every day for the updates on Nova, reading about the ups and downs and tearing up at the pictures of him with tubes and monitors and bandages attached to him.

Then this evening, her site loads and above an adorable picture of Nova lying on the floor — presurgery, arms stretched open, big brown eyes looking right into the camera, and chubby belly begging for raspberry — were the words "Nova died in my arms at 4:32 pm this afternoon."

I have never met her in person and only communicated through comments on this blog or hers, and yet tears still fall and my heart aches for her and her family tonight. 

8 thoughts on “The Power of Blogging

Add yours

  1. That is heartbreaking. I had a friend, one of my first, I met on a forum several years ago. We would catch up on our lives every once and a while. She had a son and a fiance. We had a lot in common and would just go back and forth between email and such. Then a few years ago her fiance was hit by a drunk driver and I cried for her. Then not even a year ago I found out she died as well, from some complication of a surgery I think. I cried for her and still miss her. She’s still listed on my myspace account and I still can’t believe I never got to meet her.

    Like

  2. Some people who don’t freqent the Internet might think developing attachmens and acquaintences online is impossible, but they have no idea how those of us who blog and read and chat and comment on daily occurrences can connect with each other. It’s a different kind of friendship, but no less of one either.

    I’m sorry to hear about your friend. I lost a close childhood friend six years ago, and the pain is still in me.

    Like

  3. I know. It’s just too heartbreaking for words. I commented on her post, but I’m so bad with words at times like these. However, I did want to let her know that she was on my mind. Sometimes that’s all you can do.

    Like

  4. That is so very sad. I loved the picture of Nova. Her blog really hit home with me bacause I had open heart surgery as a baby, and I had a shiver thinking that that could have been me. How narrowly some of us escape…and some of us don’t. Thank you for the reminder.

    Like

  5. Yes, Nova was adorable, and you were lucky to come out of your surgery, especially since yours was longer ago than Nova’s with less technology available.

    Like

  6. I keep finding posts like this, about Nova… I’m continually amazed by how deeply he touched so many people. Thank you for caring, enough to post about him. He was beautiful, and not only to look at, but on a deeper, less describable way. I keep saying how grateful I am that he had the opportunity to make a difference in so many people’s lives, and here I say it again. Thank you, all of you.

    Like

Thoughts, anyone? Anyone? Bueller?

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

