Least Romantic Song EVER

Standard

I can’t listen to the radio anymore without hearing that freakin’ song “Lips of an Angel” by Hinder. I don’t know which is more pathetic — the two losers on the phone in this song or the fact that South Carolinians are going to have to put up with that mornon Mark Sanford for another four years.

Have you been living under a rock for the past couple of months and not had the misfortune of hearing this song? Even if you have, let’s take a few moments to break this song down line by terrible line:

Honey, why you callin’ me so late?
It’s kind hard to talk right now.
Honey, why you cryin’? Is everything okay?
I gotta whisper ’cause I can’t be too loud.

At first listen, he sounds kind of like the concerned boyfriend who has a slight asshole streak with the whole “calling so late” thing. But in the next three lines we learn that the asshole streak is pretty large — as in his whole body:

Well, my girl’s in the next room.
Sometimes I wish she was you.
I guess we never really moved on.

Suddenly, I feel sorry for the girl in the next room, and I care NOTHING for the two people on the phone. I’m wanting a bolt of lighting to come in on the line and strike him down. The chorus doesn’t do anything to make me like him or his ex:

It’s really good to hear your voice saying my name.
It sounds so sweet.
Coming from the lips of an angel,
Hearing those words it makes me weak.
Let it die, never wanna say good-bye,
But girl you make it hard to be faithful
With the lips of an angel.

Lips of an angel… gawd, I could so lose my lunch right now. An angel? If you thought of her as an angel, you probably wouldn’t have left her would you? Or perhaps cheated on her with the chick you’re with now, which is probably what happened, ya wishy washy prick.

But wait! The next verse is even more pathetic:

It’s funny that you’re calling me tonight.
And yes,  I’ve dreamt of you too.
And does he know you’re talkin’ to me?
Will it start a fight?
No, I don’t think she has a clue.

Well, isn’t this just grand. They’re both dating people too stupid to know that they’re still in love with the ex. Love the drama much, losers?

Then we go into the chorus two more times. So, not only are the two main people in the song pathetic excuses for well-adjusted human beings, but the chorus takes up more time in the song than the verses. That just screams unoriginal, people. And it makes me wanna scream too.

10 thoughts on “Least Romantic Song EVER

  1. and of course you totally ignore my take on the song.

    when it comes on the radio instead of singing…

    “It’s really good to hear your voice saying my name.
    It sounds so sweet.
    Coming from the lips of an angel,
    Hearing those words it makes me weak.
    Let it die, never wanna say good-bye,
    But girl you make it hard to be faithful
    With the lips of an angel.”

    i, with my rather unique sense of humor, sing this instead…

    “It’s really good to see your chest while you’re saying my name.
    They look so sweet.
    Coming from above the tits of an angel,
    Seeing those melons it makes me weak.
    Let it die, never wanna say good-bye,
    But girl you make me hard and unfaithful
    With the tits of an angel.”

    how’s that for romance ladies…

    Like

  2. Yeah I agree… My ex put that song on his phone whenever u call him it plays,i felt offended either its or what I don’t know… I hate my ex! He’s my ex-husband by the way and yes he’s the biggest jerk ever! –

    Like

  3. Melinda

    Exactly!! When I hear that song, all I can picture is my 39-year-old husband talking to his teenage-obsession-of-the-week (he doesn’t actually talk on the phone or do anything else with them, he just openly lusts after them and doesn’t even try to hide it)

    Like

  4. joe

    this is one of the worst songs ever created. The guy sounds constipated, the lyrics are terrible and shows exactly whats wrong with people these days. I HATE THIS SONG.

    Like

  5. Charley

    I loved this song when it first came out but then I listened to it so much (can you OVERPLAYED) AND THEN CAME TO THE REALIZATION THAT THESE TO PEOPLE ARE LIVING IN A MESSED UP WORLD.

    Like

Thoughts, anyone? Anyone? Bueller?

