Random Comments While Importing My CDs

Standard

Being a lover of Mac things, I have used iTunes since its beginning.  I imported favorite CDs and created playlists to burn on blank CDs, and when I finally got my first iPod (the 3rd generation with the click wheel, right before the color screen and capability to hold photos), I sat down with my CDs and diligently started the massive import of songs.  Then, during the import of a No Doubt CD, my graphite iMac froze and would not restart.  The motherboard was fried.  You could hear the “NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO” from the next county.

(As an aside, this iMac was at least two years old and, to date, has been the only Mac to go belly up on us.)

Ever since then, I’ve had this mental block when it comes to importing all my CDs.  I would import new ones as I bought them, but I never really caught up.  Starting about three years ago, I started buy my music in digital form only, and a few months ago, I bought a back-up hard drive.  So I figured the time had come to finally import these CDs.  That way I can also sell them.

Over the past week, I’ve taken a stack of CDs and copied the songs into my iTunes library while writing and surfing da ‘Net, and now, I give you some random comments while taking this trip down my musical memory lane:

  • “I have a lot of music.”
  • “I have two Vanessa Carlton CDs?”
  • “Amy Grant must have recorded every Christmas song in existence.”
  • “Oh yeah… I forgot about that Lisa Marie Pressley CD.”
  • “Oh, it’s not a second Vanessa Carlton CD.  It’s the ‘A Thousand Miles’ CD single.”
  • “I have two CDs by Vertical Horizon?”
  • “Holy shit, I have a lot of music.”
  • “I have a Richard Marx CD?  Someone must have left it here…”
  • “Loki, quit rubbing your head on those CD stacks before you… *sigh* nevermind.”
  • “Wow… The Garth Brooks as Chris Gaines single… Forgot what an epic fail that experiment was.”
  • “I cannot freakin’ believe how much music I have!”
  • “Aw… It’s John Mayer’s first CD — back when he was a cute nerd and not a nerdy douchebag.”
  • “29.2 gigs of music — that’s 5 times the hard drive size of my first iMac.”

The grand tally: 4826 items (90% are songs, but there are some videos and the PDF CD booklets) that equal 29.2 gigs.

Another breakdown:  44 genres, 474 artists, 833 albums (not all complete ones, mind you)

Playing everything in my iTunes library would take 13 days, 5 hours, and 38 minutes.

Now, if you’ll excuse me, I need to back up the library.  Hopefully, it’ll be done by next week.

Thoughts, anyone? Anyone? Bueller?

